Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Acid House Flashback # 13

"Pacific State" - 808 State - 1989

1 comment:

Cyrus said...

At the forefront of the English acid house explosion, Graham Massey, Martin Price and Gerald Simpson (also known as A Guy Called Gerald, and featured as Acid House Flashback # 1 here at the Lair), came together to become 808 State.

The name is a reference to the Roland TR-808 drum machine and the shared "state" of mind of the group.

"Pacific State" was released in 1989, and became one of the biggest rave anthems during the English Summer of Love in 1989. Through this single, 808 State introduced an elegance to acid house music that influenced the emerging techno, acid jazz and ambient genres of electronic music.

In 1989, Gerald Simpson left the group and Martin Price left in 1991. They were replaced by Darren Partington and Andrew Barker, who continue to work with Graham Massey as 808 State.